BROWN SPIRITS

Photo by Monika Borys on Unsplash

For me, there is a certain romanticism around Brown Spirits that isn’t there under other such spirits such as Vodka. Although in saying that I don’t like all (Brown) spirits equally.

I think in terms of favourites mine sit at Cognac and Dark Sipping Rums as my top two, these are often interchangeable depending on time of year or mood, after these come Bourbon and Armagnac followed in a distant last by Whisky. The thing with Whisky that makes it less appealing for me is the aroma, I don’t find it pleasant.

I guess none of this will appeal to the teetotallers out there and that is completely understandable. But I am a believer that good booze should be shared with good people. Although I have shared good booze with people that fall outside of that category before, but that is the exception rather than the norm. Stories can be told, laughs can be had and the good <insert spirit of choice here> can be enjoyed (in the appropriate glass of course).

I remember a time some years back, A good friend and I were in a bar in the suburbs of London and I spied a bottle of Hennessey XO on the shelf. I ordered us a shot each and they even had Cognac glasses to serve them in which gained extra brownie points (brownie points…. see what I did there?). Firstly there is the smell, I love that initial whiff of the glass, the smells just transports you to another place. For me that place was a flat expanse of land with tall grasses swaying in the wind.

Of course when I asked him what he was “getting from it” he gave me an answer that was more to do with the drink that the place (if any) that it took him to. Although ill admit that this was years back and I cannot recall his exact words.

Why am I even mentioning this? well I found the photo above online and liked it, I liked the light on the crystal and the golden colour of the liquid within and thought it was worthy of writing down a old memory about it.

Do you like Brown Spirits? or indeed any other spirits? have you had any experiences surrounding that?

Moi…


lend me your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.