ECDEMOMANIA

ecdemomania photo ecdemomania.gif

The description makes it sound almost like a bad thing, but I wish I had had this compulsion when I was younger, to see more places, travel to different countries and be more like a free spirit (without trying to sound too hippie), instead apart from a few trips (holidays) I have spent my entire life in the same corner of the UK and it is something that I am not proud of, as you move into adulthood your responsibilities change (at least mine did) and found myself just chasing that wage to survive.

Have you had the urge to travel, or maybe you have already travelled, how did it feel to just wander, even if you had an itinery

Moi…

10 thoughts on “ECDEMOMANIA

  1. I had a wanderlust phase when in my late teens/early twenties. I traveled round parts of Europe with a mate, hitch-hiking or catching trains. We were flexible about where we went or where we slept, so it made for a great adventure. Traveled through France, Italy and Greece, then ended up in Israel on a Kibbitz before getting homesick and heading back.

    The second big trip was also with a mate and we met loads of great people from all over the world. Bussed it through Europe then visited Egypt, Israel and Turkey and came home via a super-cheap coach / hitch-hiking, with bugger-all cash in my pocket. Easily some of my most treasured memories. I hope one day to get back out there, as there are still so many places I’ve yet to visit.

    Hopefully you’ll get the chance to explore a bit one day. Ya only live once!

    1. wow, that all sounds fantastic. I would be happy going through a few Euopean places. yeah perhaps one day assuming my pension is worth several hundred thousand more percent than the projections 😀

  2. Its been long time I had some carefree wander around kind of travel. Your post made be realize it more so. I have a list of places to go may be this year I visit at-least one in the list.

  3. That is a great new word for me to learn! I most definitely have the urge to travel and it only gets worse the more I do travel. I didn’t have it when I was young. I figured I would only stay in the area of my birth here in Northern California probably never going farther than Hawaii. My first trip to Ireland opened my eyes and showed me how small the world is. The more I travel the more I want to see places I have never seen or re-visit places I have been to. I feel like some of the happiest times in my life have been when I was traveling. Thanks for the great post.

    1. It is a bit of a tongue twister too, I am thinking it is pronounced ek-demo-mania? I hope to do some different things this year, even if it is in my country (UK), I am not a fan of flying to anything outside would need to be by train, or even drive. I think that the travel portion of any trip is part of the adventure too.

      1. Just do what you are comfortable doing. You have some very amazing stuff to see very close by. Train travel can be very fun. And you are right. It is certainly part of the adventure.

lend me your thoughts

