HOW TO DISAPPEAR COMPLETELY | RADIOHEAD

OK, I know that they have put out some rubbish tracks, so I am not a die hard Radiohead fan but when they do it well, oh my they do it well. And this is a track that they have done so very well. His voice just lends itself so well to these haunting melodies that for me make Radiohead the band I listen to when feeling melancholy or feel like you are standing out on the peripheral edge of a dream looking in (or out I guess) (which is probably a bad thing I know, especially given how often I feel that way).

I’ve read some other points that people have made about this track where they say it is as if they feel utterly alone, I am guessing here that these people may well be lonely anyway and this track just reinforces that feeling for them and I can see what they mean, it is a track where you just want to say “fuck off” to everyone around you and just let the whole track sync into your psyche.

As strange as it may seem this is the kind of track that makes me wish I could sing, and I would like to do this at a karaoke and have a crowd in silent, stunned amazement as this tune is sung so well in Thom’s style, I am never usually a centre of attention kind of person but for this (and other tracks out there) I would love to do that..

Below I have listed the lyrics as well as a live and studio version of the track and some quotes I found as to the meaning of the track. I hope you enjoy.

That there
That’s not me
I go
Where I please
I walk through walls
I float down the Liffey

I’m not here
This isn’t happening
I’m not here
I’m not here

In a little while
I’ll be gone
The moment’s already passed
Yeah it’s gone
And I’m not here
This isn’t happening
I’m not here
I’m not here

Strobe lights and blown speakers
Fireworks and hurricanes
I’m not here
This isn’t happening
I’m not here
I’m not here

  • Thom Yorke: “I dreamt I was floating down the Liffey and there was nothing I could do. I was flying around Dublin and I really was in the dream. The whole song is my experiences of really floating.” (thanks, Jean Fuentes – Miami, FL)
  • Some of the lyrics were inspired by a conversation Yorke had with R.E.M. lead singer Michael Stipe where Stipe suggested he deal with his issues by pulling the shutters down and saying, “I’m not here, this is not happening.” (thanks, Trevor – Fulleron, CA)
  • A lot of effort went into the string section, which was arranged by Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood and performed by the Orchestra of St. Johns. Before joining Radiohead, Greenwood considered studying music at the university level and has a talent for working various instruments into a piece. He spent about 2 weeks working on the arrangement, and worked closely with the conductor at the sessions.

Also nicely ties in with todays daily post

Source: The Outsiders

Save

2 thoughts on “HOW TO DISAPPEAR COMPLETELY | RADIOHEAD

lend me your thoughts

