SONDER

Sonder

Source: Wordstuck

The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows defined the word sonder as the realization that each random passerby is living a life as vivid and complex as your own— populated with their own ambitions, friends, routines, worries and inherited craziness.

“Sonder is an epic story that continues invisibly around you like an anthill sprawling deep underground, with elaborate passageways to thousands of other lives that you’ll never know existed, in which you might appear only once, as an extra sipping coffee in the background, as a blur of traffic passing on the highway, as a lighted window at dusk.”

Even just thinking about this for a moment and the enormity of it all begins to sink in. Even if you think, as I do, that your (own) life is pretty dull and boring you have still been through a number of years of different experiences be that people that have come into (and maybe then out of) your life (where are they now?), different places visited, the worries that you have, be them current or past; basically everything that is at the bottom of the first paragraph.

All those experiences are memories and experiences that make you you, some fresh and other sinking deeper into the subconscious and occasionally pulled to the fore by a smell, a music track, a photograph or something else that acts as a trigger. Currently it is making me think inwards, about being unsatisfied with my life as is it will either drive me to a new level of despair or at least get me thinking about changes (but what to change… and how?)

Does Sonder ever enter your thoughts? If so how do you see it?

Moi…

5 thoughts on “SONDER

      1. Yes, totally agree with you. Beside thinking about my day, I really do think what happened today with this guy sitting next to me, what he saw or did today in his life.

      2. The kind of thoughts I have are similar, for example if I am walking to the station from work, people are walking the same way as me, they are seeing what I see (albeit from a slightly different angle), as soon as they travel a different direction they are seeing something else entirely and even if I know that “view” because I have walked it myself, I don’t know what they are seeing at that moment. Weird,

lend me your thoughts

