WOODS

h4hh - woods photo trees.jpg
Credit: Unknown

When I was little I used to love going to the woods with my Mum and Dad. We went to many places, the names of which I have forgotten although one place called Ide Hill near to where we lived sticks in my mind, probably because I still live relatively near it and pass it fairly regularly.

The woods are a magical place no matter which time of year you go, full of wonderful noises and smells. I love all the seasons. Spring when the weather starts to get a little warmer, fresh, clean, bright green leaves sprouting from the branches. Summer with insects buzzing, the smell of dry soil and pools of sunlight dotted on the ground, I particularly enjoyed watching the sunbeams, they seem like you can reach out at touch them. Autumn when there are so many hues of brown as the woods settle in for winter. I suppose Winter is my least favourite time there although I still really enjoy it, all the leaves have gone and the trees seem almost skeletal, the trunks reaching upwards waiting for Spring to come

The woods felt like they had no end, that if you chose a direction and walked in it you would forever be amongst the trees apart from the odd occasion when you would come across a clearing or start seeing civilisation in the form of walls, and buildings, as you walked into a small village. They are also (generally) peaceful places, the silence is lovely, away from all the hustle and bustle, especially if you spend a lot of time in built up area

Do you get anything from this picture? Is it just a bit meh for you or do you find something rich and interesting in it? Please share your thoughts either way.

Moi…

2 thoughts on “WOODS

    1. Indeed I have, I credit and link to the main image where ever I can. It is a great angle isn’t it, really emphasises just how tall they can grow.

lend me your thoughts

