70s BEACH

 photo 70s beach.jpg
Source: Unknown

I know that the image is small, apologies, it is the largest one I could find.

There is something about images with this colour palette that resonates with me; I think they take me back to my early childhood throughout the 70s, Mum, Dad and me would go down to the beach on the south coast I would explore the beaches, trying to skim stones on the sea and my Dad would show me how to do it, we would have a picnic or sometimes go for fish and chips. I loved the smell of the fish and chips shops, freshly battered fish, chips, and salt, the squawking of the seagulls could be heard outside, sitting at a dodgy formica table, little wooden forks to pick your chips up with and tomato sauce bottles in the shape of a tomato, then more often than not we would go to the amusement arcade.

We used the get the train home until my dad learnt how to drive and then we drove to the beach. Summers always seems to be warm then although that is probably a skewed memory, I remember mum slavering me in sun block, I remember cold sea no matter how hot the day was. I loved this time in my life, worry and stress free.

Do you have memories of the beach?

Do you get anything from this picture? Is it just a bit meh for you or do you find something rich and interesting in it? Please share your thoughts either way.

Moi…

lend me your thoughts

