RAINCATCHER

raincatcher
Source: Mandy Schoch

I always would have loved to have been an explorer. In my mind I wanted to be brave and intrepid, treading on ground that others had not trodden in hundreds of years, like a male Lara Croft (but with a more manly physique); sadly for me I loved my creature comforts too much and so it never happened (because naturally that is the ONLY reason it didn’t happen).

So when I saw this picture I thought about if I was there experiencing it. Maybe having entered the chamber from a door somewhere behind the shot, having carefully crept through hundreds of meters of tunnels thick with webs and stale air before finally getting here. It would be cool, cold even from the lack of sunlight, the light that is available from that hole in the ceiling would dance off the walls and the echoes would reverberate throughout, water drips would sound a thousand times louder than they should as I gaze upon this view. I would wonder in awe at what it was used for and look for a way to get to that ledge in the near distance, however having none of the aforementioned Lara’s gymnastic skills it would be a tall order.

I think that this would be a fantastic place to explore, the little boy in me would come out again and I would be in my element, my adultness cast aside (at last I hope it would be).

Do you get anything from this picture? Is it just a bit meh for you or do you find something rich and interesting in it? Please share your thoughts either way.

Moi…

2 thoughts on “RAINCATCHER

  1. For some reason, when I look at this picture, what I get out of it, is less the visual and more sound. It’s like I am hearing an echo when I look at it. That’s how I responded. Harlon

lend me your thoughts

